CHI's bloG

​y

The first time anything was transmitted over the internet was October 29, 1969: Leonard Kleinrock, Charley Kline, and Bill Duvall attempted to send the word “login” from one computer to another, and the internet was born.

<

p style=”box-sizing:border-box;color:rgb(46,68,83);font-family:Merriweather, Georgia, Times, serif;line-height:27px;background-color:rgb(243,246,248);”>Their initial attempt was . . . marginally successful:

“So I’m on the phone to SRI and I type the L and say, “OK I typed in L, you got that?” Bill Duvall, the guy at SRI, is watching his monitor and he has the L. I type the O. Got the O. Typed the G. “Wait a minute,” Bill says, “my system crashed. I’ll call you back.”

Interested? Read more about the day inthis Q&A with Charley Kline.

<

p style=”box-sizing:border-box;color:rgb(46,68,83);font-family:Merriweather, Georgia, Times, serif;line-height:27px;background-color:rgb(243,246,248);”>Later that afternoon, they managed to send the entire word. And a mere 47 years on,we can send letters, cash checks, make…

View original post 829 more words